News and Notes


Auditions for ACO

Would you like to play with the Austin Civic Orchestra?  Auditions for the violin and string bass sections will be held on August 19th at Westlake High School.

Please e-mail Dr. Lois Ferrari if you are interested in auditioning at that time.  Click here for more information on auditioning.


Arts Eclectic
Big thanks to Mike Lee and  KUT Austin for featuring the ACO on Arts Eclectic on April 24! Our Music Director, Lois Ferrari, got to sit down and talk about our concert on April 26th, Texas Rising Stars. Click the link below to listen to the whole interview:



Check out the newsletter about the Texas Rising Stars concert!


Composition Contest Winner

Composer Michael Gilbertson has won the biennial composition contest with his piece Tragedy Tomorrow.  Check out his webpage and listen to the piece the ACO will perform during the 2014-2015 season.


Pre-concert Talk

Join composer Jason Hoogerhyde, UT Professor of Violin, Brian Lewis, and ACO Music Director Lois Ferrari in a discussion of the 2014 Texas Rising Stars concert.  The conversation will begin on Hoogerhyde's piece,  A Quiet Constellation.  The talk begins at 6:30 pm in classroom 2.614.  The concert begins at 7:30 pm in Bates Recital Hall.